New Job, New Ideas

Well, it finally happened!

I got my Federal Work-Study job!

FINALLY!

I feel like I was in this state of limbo, just floating around campus, going from interview to interview, like I had no purpose… I’m exaggerating, of course.

Well, kind of.

So, what’s the job, you ask? It’s a tutoring job! I get to tutor elementary school kids in reading and math, a.k.a. THE BEST JOB EVER! I’m so excited for this, you do not even know.

In my last post, I wrote that I hoped to be an actress. Well, even though that is still possible, I am also seriously considering becoming a teacher. With my passion for performing arts, theatre and making a difference in the community, becoming a drama teacher would be perfect, don’t you think?

This is an amazing opportunity because I can see if I truly want to become a full-time teacher for the rest of my life. You may think that I’m thinking a little too far ahead… but I’m in college to find out what I want to do with the rest of my life, aren’t I? Being a freshman and being able to have real-world experience in the field you want to work in… it’s simply priceless. One of the reasons I’m so thankful to be attending University of San Diego.

Plus, this semester I’m taking classes that interest me, like Intro to Human Communication, Intro to Catholic Theology, Theatre and Society and my English class, Theatre Alive. For my English class, we attend professional theatre shows and analyze the connection between the script and production. It’s awesome. That way I get to see what I like and don’t like about the aspects of theatre, which, by the way… I love absolutely everything about it. So everything’s looking pretty good so far.

Next semester, I’m going to be taking a lot of my core curriculum classes including Marine Science 101, World Religions and Philosophy 101.  This is the beauty of liberal arts colleges: you get to study everything! It’s way easier to see what you don’t like and what you secretly love. Let’s say you never took calculus in high school, so you start taking it in college only because it’s the next level up and you need to get it out of the way. Who wants to take calculus, right? Ew. (I’m kidding, I love calculus. Don’t hate!) But suddenly… it turns out you’re a calculus whiz! You love it and now you want to become an engineer. Awesome, right? Well, you would’ve never found out that you were a calculus nerd if you didn’t study at a liberal arts college! As in, at USD, ahem, winking face.

So, the moral of the story is… I’m still trying to figure out what I want to do for the rest of my life. Does that mean I can’t start searching for the perfect job for me now? Of course not! Does that mean I have to find out right this minute and declare a major right now? Of course not! I’m a freshman at USD, taking my time, looking at my options. And that’s perfectly alright with me.

My best friends and I dressed up for Halloween

Oh, by the way, I am still working at the Torero Store, the on campus bookstore at USD. It has been great! I’m having a lot of fun there, and plus, I still have time to do all of my homework, study for all of my classes and hang out with friends. (See the photo above- I was Flo, the Progressive Girl for Halloween.) It’s all about managing time. I’ll see how it goes with working both my Torero Store job and my new tutoring job and keep you updated.

Until next time,

Melanie

One thought on “New Job, New Ideas

Leave a Reply

