USD: The Final Semester

They say that it’ll go fast. They say that it’s the best years of your life. But what they don’t say is how to cope with it all! A few weeks ago I  finished up my very last fall semester at USD, meaning the semester starting up in a few weeks will be my final one, something both completely terrifying and thrilling all at the same time. It was easier not to think about this impending graduation when it was still 2013. “Oh,” I would say to myself, “I’m not graduating until next year, I have plenty of time.” But now that 2014 is upon us I can’t really deny it any longer – my time at USD is coming to an end and I need to enjoy every minute of it, and keep all of you updated on every minute of it of course. I’ve done so much in my time here that I thought this would be an amazing way to reflect, share advice and somehow come to terms with the fact that I’m going to be leaving this beautiful place in a mere matter of months.

The end of last semester was so crazy. In the last week of school I had the the bi-annual Night of Procrastination with the Honors Program, a night of Christmas movies, Mexican food and not thinking about finals, and the final USD Men’s basketball game of the semester, all in addition to studying for finals and saying goodbye to friends. It’s especially tough with my friends who are juniors and going abroad because I might not get to see them again before I graduate and leave! Trying to balance everything at the end of a semester can be really hard but it’s something every college student needs to learn how to do. The prospect of finals can seem overwhelming, but everyone should take a break and go do something fun to take their mind off finals, especially during the fall semester with Christmas right around the corner.

During this, my final Intersession of college, in addition to applying for jobs (so.many.cover letters), I’ve been creating my own sort of bucket list for what I want to do before I graduate from USD. Here’s what I’ve come up with so far, let me know if you think of anything else that I should do/try!

1) Go surfing

2) Shop at one of the farmer’s markets in San Diego

3) Go to a performance of one of the musical ensembles at USD

4) Hang out on the roof of the Science and Tech Building (okay this might be a little out of reach…)

Leave a Reply

