Freshman Year Recap

Second semester flew by me, so I guess I was having fun.  Can’t believe I’ll be headed home in 10 days.  I’ve come a long way this year.  First thing I need to tell you guys about is the fraternity recruitment process.  A short week of testing the waters with different fraternities was interesting and overwhelming.  Each fraternity has its own unique flavor.  You can find people you connect with in every one, but it’s ultimately about which one you feel most comfortable with.  I ended up accepting a bid to Phi Gamma Delta or FIJI.  It’s been a really great time so far, and I’m proud to be a FIJI.

Through my fraternity I participated in so many things–joining greek life will make your schedule a lot busier, but in a good way, you know?  I participated in Shamrock N Roll and Greek Week Skits (both dance competitions), as well as Greek Week, Relay for Life, a Children’s Carnival–the list goes on.  The best part of being in a fraternity is the brotherhood.  One of the best things we did as a chapter was going paint-balling: we trekked out to Lakeside, CA for a battle royal–twas lots of fun.

I had the opportunity to go north to see a different side of California twice this semester.  Once was a week on the beaches of Santa Cruz; lots of sports and sun and swim and stuff.  I got to see the city of San Francisco, an awesome city with a great vibe–a place I would consider living when I’m older.  My second time was with my roommate and our Bostonian friend for Easter Break.  So cool to get the Bay Area from a local.  Favorite part of the whole trip was going to a place called Grizzly Peak which looks over Oakland, San Fran, and the Bay.  Northern California is a great place, very different from San Diego but both provide something special.

I had a memorable experience last weekend.  Our colony of Fiji officially became a chapter which gives us a more permanent place on campus.  We had a wonderful chartering ceremony and I became a founding father of an organization that will hopefully continue to make a positive impact on both our campus and in our community long after I graduate.

The weather has been extraordinary of late, makes it a little hard to study for upcoming finals. I’m getting my last fix of the beaches before I go back to the ocean-less Midwest.  When I said I’ve come a long way this semester, I meant it.  It’s hard to say where you stand after only one semester.  But after two under my belt, I know that I am fortunate to have had this experience.  I met people from all over the west coast, the country, and the world.  I met countless friends, and role models. They say that part of who you are is the people you surround yourself with.  If so, I’m a great guy, because  the people at USD are magnificent, and I’m honored to be amongst their ranks. My only wish is that I had more time to spend with all those people, but I suppose that’s what next year is for, right?

Until next time,

your favorite blogger.

Leave a Reply

