Balancing your studying and your fun

One of the biggest worries I had when I first came to college was how I was going to balance my social life with my academic life. I wanted to do well in school, but at the same time, I wanted to take advantage of the new freedom that I never really experienced back in high school. There was no pressure from my parents to do homework, to do chores, or even to do more than lie down in bed all day, reading books and playing video games. Honestly, the freedom that college brings can be liberating- and distracting.

The first thing I did was make sure that I set up a schedule. Most of my classes are science and English classes, a nice balance between two very different fields of study. As much as I wanted to go out and have fun with my new friends, I also had to do well in my classes, which meant likely doing what every professor at this school- especially when they teach a science class- seems to recommend: three hours of study for every one hour of lecture. It is a rigorous, grueling schedule, but in the end, the rewards are well worth it.

My schedule consisted of just that: three hours of studying, over many of the subjects spaced out over the week. Rather than spend all three hours studying one subject, however, I chose to spread them out. I spent one hour on chemistry, one on physics, one on biology, and one on English. It was a very strict schedule, but it worked for me. I am doing well in my classes, while also remaining close to the friends I’ve made in college. Of course, there are times when the schedule has to be modified, especially when tests are coming up. Although I hardly study all day and all night, there is no denying that sometimes, I’m going to have to sacrifice that night out with friends or that all-night video game session to ensure that I do well in class.

In the end, how much one studies and how much one hangs out with their friends is all up to the student. Some majors are quite difficult, others are not quite as much. Either way, as long as you’re doing what you’re passionate about, then you are sure to succeed here at USD. The staff is here to foster both your learning and your passions; you’re here to take advantage of every opportunity sent your way, and to make sure that you bloom into the person that you would be proud of.

